About Future Northants West

Future Northants is a website dedicated to keeping you informed on all things unitary in Northamptonshire.

Under government proposals recently laid before Parliament, two new unitary councils will be created in Northamptonshire to provide all local government services in the county.

Subject to this parliamentary legislation being approved, the new unitaries will come into being on 1 April 2021 and Northamptonshire’s current eight councils will cease to exist.

The proposed West Northamptonshire unitary authority will cover the areas of Daventry District Council, Northampton Borough Council and South Northamptonshire Council. A proposed new unitary council for North Northamptonshire will cover the areas of Corby Borough Council, East Northamptonshire Council, Kettering Borough Council and Borough of Wellingborough Council. Services currently provided by Northamptonshire County Council and the districts and boroughs would be delivered by the two new councils.

The creation of West Northamptonshire Council and North Northamptonshire Council is an opportunity to develop and transform services so they deliver what residents and businesses need, are modern and provide good value for money.

New information will be added to this site so please visit regularly for the latest updates. To find out more about the unitary process, go to the ‘Information’ section.